38th Hassan II Tennis Grand Prix: Stan Wawrinka and Roberto Carballés Baena in the 8th final


Swiss tennis players Stanislas Wawrinka and Spaniard Roberto Carballés Baena validated, on Tuesday, their tickets for the round of 16 of the 38th edition of the Hassan II Tennis Grand Prix, which continues until April 7 at the Royal Court Tennis of Marrakech (RTCMA ).

Stan Wawrinka (82nd in the world), winner of 16 singles titles on the ATP circuit, including three Grand Slam tournaments, beat Spaniard Albert Ramos-Viñolas (103rd in the world) in straight sets (6-1, 6-4) .

For his part, the defending champion Roberto Carballés Baena (64th in the world) qualified following the withdrawal of his opponent, the Italian Matteo Gigante, in the second set (6-2, 2-0).

The last Arab tennis player who was still involved in the tournament, the Jordanian Abdullah Shelbayh (230th in the world) was beaten by the Italian Flavio Cobolli (63rd) by two sets to 0 (6-1, 6-4).

Note that the 04 players exempted from the first round, namely, the Serbian Laslo Djere, 34th in the world and seeded number 1 in the tournament, the Austrian Sebastian Ofner (47th in the world), the British Daniel Evans (42nd in the world) and the Italian Lorenzo Sonego (61st in the world), will enter the competition on Wednesday in the round of 16.

The second round of the Hassan II Grand Prix promises to be very competitive with some shock encounters, notably the one between the Briton Daniel Evans, seeded number 3 in the tournament, and the defending champion of the 37th edition of the Hassan II Grand Prix. the Spaniard Roberto Carballés Baena.

Placed under the High Patronage of His Majesty King Mohammed VI, and organized by the Royal Moroccan Tennis Federation (FRMT), the Hassan II Grand Prix, which has been played since 2016 on the RTCMA courts, constitutes a true gathering of tennis superstars. world tennis, offering an unforgettable experience to fans eager to witness the most intense exchanges on clay.

Here are also the complete results of the 16th finals:

– Pavel Kotov beats Elliot Benchetrit (MAR) (7/5, 6/3)

– Jaume Munar (ESP) beats Luca Van Assche (FRA) (7-6, 6-2)

– Mariano Navone (ARG) beats Aziz Dougaz (TUN) (6-3, 6-2)

– David Goffin (BEL) beats Arthur Rinderknech (FRA) (6-4, 6-4)

– Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI) beats Albert Ramos-Viñolas (ESP) (6-1, 6-4)

– Fabio Fognini (ITA) beats Hugo Gaston (FRA) (6-7, 6-1, 6-4)

– Aleksandar Vukic (AUS) beats Alexandre Müller (FRA) (6-3, 7-6)

– Sumit Nagal (INDIA) beats Corentin Moutet (FRA) (4-6, 6-3, 6-2)

– Flavio Cobolli (ITA) beats Abdullah Shelbayh (JOR) (6-1, 6-4)

– Nicolas Moreno de Alboran (USA) beats Facundo Díaz Acosta (ARG) (6-4, 3-6, 6-3)

– Matteo Berrettini (ITA) beats Alexander Shevchenko (KAZ) (6-2, 6-1)

– Victory for Roberto Carballés Baena (ESP) following the withdrawal in the second set of Matteo Gigante (ITA) (6-2, 2-0).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button