SIAM 2024: Twelve olive oils from four award-winning regions


On the sidelines of the 16th edition of the International Agricultural Show in Morocco, the Minister of Agriculture, Maritime Fisheries, Rural Development and Water and Forests, Mohammed Sadiki, chaired on Wednesday April 24, 2024 in Meknes, the trophy presentation ceremony to the winners of the fourteenth edition of the national competition for the selection of the best quality of extra virgin olive oil for the 2023/2024 agricultural campaign.

Organized by the ministry in consultation with the olive industry (INTERPROLIVE), this competition demonstrates the particular interest given by the Generation Green strategy to improving the quality of agricultural products, particularly olive oil.

The competition took place in accordance with regulations drawn up on the basis of the standards adopted in this area by the International Olive Council (IOC).

This competition, open to all olive oil producers in Morocco, saw the participation this year of 54 candidates from 6 regions.

In accordance with the competition regulations, twelve olive oils belonging to four regions were awarded prizes, divided into four homogeneous groups according to fruitiness, namely, intense green fruity, medium green fruity, light green fruity and ripe fruity. In each fruity group, three prizes are awarded (1st, 2nd and 3rd prize).

The results by category are as follows:

Intense green fruity category:
• 1st prize: Société l’Arbre Beni Agro (Marrakech-Safi)
•2nd prize: Nour Mejjat Cooperative (Marrakech-Safi)
•3rd prize: Laghdir Lahmer Cooperative (Marrakech-Safi)

Medium green fruity category:
• 1st prize: Société Maâsera Brahim Zniber (Fès-Meknes)
• 2nd prize: Société Chichaoua Olive (Marrakech-Safi)
• 3rd prize: Oléa Capital Company (Fès-Meknes)

Light green fruity category:
• 1st prize: Tizi Cooperative (Oriental)
• 2nd prize: GIE Zouyout Ait Attab (Béni Mellal-Khénifra)
• 3rd prize: Oliveinvest Company (Fès-Meknes)

Ripe fruity category:
• 1st prize: Azaghar Mogador Cooperative (Marrakech-Safi)
• 2nd prize: Maâssarat Benmallouk (Marrakech-Safi)
• 3rd prize: Ariaf Kissane Cooperative (Fez-Meknes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button