FIFA Women’s World Cup 2027/Bidding: USA and Mexico withdraw. Which candidate for the 10th edition?


*FIFA will announce the name of the successful bid to host the 2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup™ at its Congress on 17 May.

*The 2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup is three years away

A joint application and an individual application were submitted by member associations from two separate confederations

After the global success of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup™ in Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand, the time has come to find out which country will have the honor of hosting the competition in 2027.

Thus, the host country(ies) of the 2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup™ will be designated for the first time by the FIFA Congress, following a public vote, during the session on 17 May 2024, in Bangkok, Thailand.

Two applications were submitted by member associations from two different confederations:

-The Royal Belgian Union of Association Football Societies, the German Football Federation and the Dutch Football Federation (joint application)

-The Brazilian Football Federation

The 2027 tournament will be the 10th edition of the Women’s World Cup. China, Sweden, the United States, Germany, Canada and France have each already organized at least one edition before the 2023 one.

Spain is the current holder of the Women’s World Cup, joining the United States (four titles), Germany (two titles), Japan and Norway as nations to have won the coveted trophy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button